When you are facing DUI charges, it is important to realize that in addition to severe penalties such as jail time and fines, you are also facing potential license suspension or revocation. You need an aggressive Tallahassee DUI lawyer that can effectively protect your rights both in and out of the courtroom.
While not legally required, it's strongly recommended that you hire a lawyer for a DUI charge in Florida. The law is complex, and the potential consequences are severe. A lawyer can help you understand your rights, negotiate with the prosecutor, and represent you in court. They can also help you avoid some collateral consequences of a DUI conviction, such as losing your job or being denied a loan.
DUI Attorney Prince has successfully handled cases involving DUI charges in the Tallahassee area for many years. With a dedication to thoroughly investigating your case, he has what it takes to make your DUI case a success.
Are you facing a DUI charge in Florida? Call the Law Office of Nathan Prince today at (850) 601-5690 or contact us online to meet with our Tallahassee DUI attorney.
Drivers can be arrested for a DUI if they are in physical control of their vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the point of impairment of normal functions, including hearing, balancing, seeing and talking. In other words, DUI charges can be closely linked to drug crimes as well.
What actually determines whether or not a person is driving under the influence is their blood alcohol content (BAC). The legal limit for Florida drivers is 0.08% BAC when tested via a breathalyzer, blood or urine test. Anything at or above this limit will result in a DUI arrest.
We can assist clients in Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Gadsden, Franklyn, Liberty, Madison, Taylor, Suwanee, Calhoun, Washington, Gulf, Bay, Holmes, Okaloosa, and Walton Counties.
If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important that you understand the possible consequences that you could be facing. The state of Florida takes DUI offenses very seriously, and it is necessary that you know your penalties to then fight for your rights.
Possible Penalties You Can Face:
Our Tallahassee DUI attorney is prepared to defend you if you are facing charges for DUI. Let us help you today.
For a first time conviction, your fine will be between $500–$2,000. If your blood alcohol level is .15 or higher, or you have a minor in the vehicle, the fine will be between $2,000–$4,000. If this is your first conviction, you will need to serve a mandatory 50 hours of community service or an additional fine of $10 for each hour of required community service. For your first conviction, your probation and incarceration will not be greater than 1 year. If you are looking to reinstate your license and this is your first DUI Conviction, and you have 180 to 1 year revocation effective from the conviction date, you can apply for a hardship license in your county before the expiration of this revocation period, DUI school completion and treatment may be referred and is required.
If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage of 0.02% or more while you are under the age of 21, you may have your license suspended for six months. If you have already committed a previous DUI offense, your license may be suspended for one year.
A DUI education program may be required, if you were caught driving with a BAC of 0.05% or more. If you as an underage driver refuse to submit to a urine, breath or blood test, your license can be suspended for one year.
A DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Florida can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances.
Generally, a first and second DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor in Florida. However, if the DUI causes property damage, injury, or death to another person, it can be charged as a felony.
Additionally, a third DUI offense within ten years, or a fourth or subsequent offense, is considered a felony, regardless of whether it caused any harm or damage.
A DUI in Florida can stay on your record for up to 75 years. You are also facing other harsh penalties such as increased insurance premiums, lose of your driver's license, and more. You can fight a DUI charge, though, and stop it in its tracks before you get convicted. Then, you won’t have to deal with it being on your record for several decades.
If you are pulled over for a DUI, make sure you stay calm and listen to the officer’s directions. You should always keep your hands on the wheel unless you’re instructed to move them to pull out your license and registration. The officer might want you to step outside of the car and take a field sobriety test where you need to do a walk-and-turn or stand on one leg and count out loud for 30 seconds. These tests could be difficult if you have bad balance or you’re tired. Before an officer formally arrests you, you don’t have to take any tests if you don’t want to. Of course, you have the right to remain silent as well.
Florida has a complied consent law, meaning that any individual who operates a vehicle has given consent to submit to a BAC test during a traffic stop.
If a person refuses to submit to such a test, they will be arrested and receive a "Notice of Suspension" that can last for up to one year. If this is the second time a person has refused a test, their license can be suspended for up to 18 months.
It is also important to note that a driver has only 10 days following their arrest to fight for their driving privileges.
This urgency to protect your right to drive makes representation from an experienced Tallahassee DUI attorney that much more important. Fight against your DUI charges by hiring the skilled Tallahassee DUI defense lawyer at the Law Office of Nathan Prince to fight for you.
Contact the Law Office of Nathan Prince today for a FREE consultation!